7 replies to this topic

#1 Grace Makutsi

Grace Makutsi

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 20 June 2009 - 07:02 PM

Advertisement
I tried fasting (partly because I just wanted a break from the constant abdominal pain, and not eating reduces the pain). Days 1 and 2, no food, just water, and at the end of Day 3, a small bowl of white rice. Tried three of these back-to-back but when I resumed eating, the symptoms just came back.Has anyone had success treating IBS with fasting?I am a typical-sized middle aged female, a little chubby but not at all fat (5'7" and 143 lbs) so I have some reserves to protect me from lack of calories. Since I'm totally new to IBS, I don't know what to expect long term.

Advertisement

#2 Christian with a thorn

Christian with a thorn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts

Posted 21 June 2009 - 01:04 AM

I personally have never had any success with fasting and if anything it seems like it's worse then when I do start to eat again. I can't really fast anyway, as I have very low blood pressure and feel faint easily. If you are new to IBS, there are many other methods, natural remedies, and medications you can try which may help regulate you more. Have you been tested for gluten intolerance, as I know that can cause almost constant abdominal pain. Just a thought. It may not be that you have to stop eating completely, but rather find things that you can safely eat. I suggest starting a journal daily, and keep track of what foods you seem to react worse too. Etc. It can take times but often you'll begin to see a pattern. Then adjust your eating habits and see if that at least lessens the frequency and severity of the attacks.Good Luck!!!! Were you officially diagnosed with IBS by a GI? If not , that is a good place to start.
When I am weak, then I am truly strong as I rely on God!

#3 IanRamsay

IanRamsay

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,062 posts

Posted 21 June 2009 - 04:12 AM