5 replies to this topic

#1 Breck

Breck

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 30 November 2003 - 11:04 PM

Advertisement
My nephew has a dammaged nerve in his back as a result from injuries playing hockey. His doctors have told him that his constipation is a result of this nerve dammage. Can anybody explain this to me?

Advertisement

#2 flux

flux

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10,398 posts

Posted 01 December 2003 - 01:43 AM

This make sense. The last portion of the large intestine is under control of the parasympathetic's sacral nerves. And the lower back is about where they emerge. Urination may also be affected.
I am not a doctor, but utilize sources of information not readily available to the public. Some of this information may contradict what you think you know and some of it may sound harsh, but the information is what it is, and you got it here for free. I am just a messenger. Always consult a real doctor.

#3 westford2

westford2

• Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 01 December 2003 - 01:16 PM

Anyone know precisely which nerves when damaged - at which vertebrae - can cause constipation?I've thought my lower back problems might be involved for a long time, but a rectal surgeon told me that constipation from compressed lower back nerves was impossible! Thanks!Dave

#4 Kathleen M.

Kathleen M.

Community Manager

• Community Managers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 34,890 posts

Posted 01 December 2003 - 01:39 PM