12 replies to this topic

#1 Allipops

Allipops

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 03:15 AM

Advertisement
Hi Everyone, I am a newbie from the Uk. I currently have an inflammed siactic nerve which is causing pain to shoot down my left leg and is keeping me awake at night.My Osteopath recommended I take Iburofen, but this cause me to have servere diarrhea.Does anyone know of another anti-inflammatory that is available in the UK that doesnt have this effect to IBS sufferers?Many thanks

Advertisement

#2 Trudyg

Trudyg

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 794 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 09:16 AM

Good luck with that. I read that nsaids should be avoided for anyone with any intestinal issues, but wasn't able to get much feedback on that here on the boards for why. Seems like our bowels are inflamed. Drugs are hard on us, period. Can you try a lower dose? I have also heard that cherry juice is anti-inflammatory, so that's a thought.

#3 MommyL

MommyL

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 09:19 AM

Welcome,I am not sure of an alternative in the UK, but I have a friend who is a osteopath and he really recommends a systemic enzyme called vitalzym which is suppose to help with pain, inflammation..etc http://www.worldnutr....info/vitalzym. I personally have not taken it and I am not sure if you can order it and get it in the UK, but just thought I would let you know. Can you tolerate Aleve? Maybe try to go to physical therapy so they can advice you on heat/cold or exercises that may help. Sorry I am not more help.

#4 overitnow

overitnow

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,017 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 09:58 AM