14 replies to this topic

#1 ANGEL-ROSE2012

ANGEL-ROSE2012

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 03:50 PM

Advertisement
Hi All,I just wanted some advise really I am new to this - I would appreciate to hear any views, to find out if others think that stress and anxiety make IBS worse, as currently Im feeling like its a viscous circle......I am anxious because of IBS yet my anxiety brings on my IBS :( I notice its (IBS) worse for me in the mornings of work (I do get nervous for work and think I have a very nervous stomach), I'm not so bad when Im off work or weekends - On work mornings Im stressed and I rush around, even though I get up plenty of time for work, I feel my stomach moving and bloating and gurgling when I get stuck in traffic and thats when I know its going to be a bad morning - I work in a very quiet office (I think this makes it worse) as I am most paranoid of my stomach gurgling and people hearing (You know the noise its not a 'im hungry gurgle') its the wind noise in your stomach sometimes I can even feel it move my actual stomach like as if there is a huge bubble in there I also HATE MEETINGS! and quiet rooms etc, when I know I have a meeting I start to panic and it makes me feel like I need to empty my bowels etc even though I always go twice before work....... So on the days my stomach is noisy It makes me anxious and I feel like I need the loo and I go - which I hate at work, I am quite shy and embarrassed by that kind of stuff and I think this is why this has come as a bit of a shock to me and possibly the people I work with and commenting when other people have been to the toilet DOESN'T help, normally I can take imodium and Im fine, I do think they work and my doctor said they are perfectly fine to take I just worry if I take them too often can I become imune or can they do anything bad to you? I also was prescribed mebeverine from the doctor and they do take away the cramps some times but they dont really give me peace of