Why do potatoes hurt!!!!

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Kerri O'Boyle_*

Guest_Kerri O'Boyle_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 November 1999 - 08:57 PM

Advertisement
Here's a strange one for you! I just had dinner, and I had a baked potato. Every time I eat one, after eating about 1/2 of it, I feel like it all balls up in my stomach, and it hurts, and I bloat. I feel like I swallowed a basketball!! I absolutely LOVE potatoes, so this is not good. Anyone have any advice? I know-lay off the spuds!!Kerri

Advertisement

#2 eric

eric

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 23,983 posts

Posted 19 November 1999 - 10:52 PM

Kerri, lay off the spuds.
I am not a doctor. All information I present is for educational purposes only and should not be subsituted for the advise of a qualified health care provider.

Please make sure you have your symptoms diagnosed by a medical practitioner or a doctor.

#3 Guest_lee w_*

Guest_lee w_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 November 1999 - 11:59 PM

Do you eat the skin of the baked potato? They're pretty tough to digest....

#4 JeanG

JeanG

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,922 posts

Posted 20 November 1999 - 12:36 AM

Kerri:I'd stay away from the skins. Eric, are potatoes in general hard to digest? I haven't had many lately due to dieting so don't know. Jean------------------"Never let the fear of striking out get in your way." Babe Ruth. And I'm also Praying with Bettie for a cure for this NASTY IBS! Jean
*** Seeking accurate information in the fight against IBS ***

#5 Guest_Kerri O'Boyle_*

Guest_Kerri O'Boyle_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 November 1999 - 02:09 AM

Thank you so much for your insight Eric!(LOL)I knew I could count on you! And no, I don't usually eat the skins. I always thought spuds were supposed to be easy to digest, not be bloat material.

#6 eric

eric

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 23,983 posts

Posted 20 November 1999 - 02:19 AM