#1 laney_001

laney_001

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts

Posted 22 January 2002 - 11:56 PM

Advertisement
My mom has Rheumatoid arthritis, an autoimmune disease that attacks the joints. Well, she saw on a news special (unfortunately she forgets which one or I would have investigated it myself) that researchers are wondering if there isn't a correlation between IBS and autoimmune diseases. I am a medical student and am learning all about genetics and how many different genes can be related to a single disease causing seemingly unrelated effects or producing part of the effect of a disease without producing the whole symptom (in other words, there is SO MUCH science DOESN'T KNOW about genetics). So, what I am wondering, is if any of you out there HAVE an autoimmune disease or if you are related to anyone with one. This could be a gold mine if we were to figure anything out. It's worth checking, anyway....

Advertisement

#2 ibs-sufferer

ibs-sufferer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 23 January 2002 - 12:23 AM

Pardon my ignorance, what are autoimmune diseases?

#3 M&M

M&M

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,148 posts

Posted 23 January 2002 - 12:30 AM

well i don't know if this will help you, but here i go. lol i have IBS, and i have never been diagnosed, BUT after all the reading i have done i feel i have MANY of the symptoms of fibromyaligia and i also have TMJ. i also have low blood pressure (my standing blood pressure is 90/60) and i tend to pass out when i am worn out or experiencing pain from my IBS. i think that about covers it for now. my mom also has TMJ. i wish you the best on this study you are trying to do, i feel like you are DEFINITELY on the right track, a lot of these diseases ARE related to IBS. people with IBS can tell you this, but we cannot tell you why. i also have endometriosis. i am also 23 just to let you know! post back if you need more info. =)
ME patient for the past 9 years