14 replies to this topic

#1 Marc76Law

Marc76Law

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 January 2003 - 07:32 AM

Advertisement
After 5 years of pain and not getting relief from antispasmotics, my doctor finally prescribed me percocet. I am going off of it now because I will probably have surgery and don't want to be too tolerant, but I think that every IBS sufferer should be allowed to choose the advantage of opiate therapy v addiction potential.For me, percocet stopped me from having to visit the ER, it slowed down my BMs, and when I had severe abdominal distention, it was the only thing that stopped the pain. The drawbacks for me is that I am a student and need to be able to think straight. However, during my exams I had to choose between running out of the exam room to the toilet every 20 minutes and pain distraction, or using percocet and not thinking as clearly.This is a decision a patient should be able to make and not a doctor. I am lucky that I have a compassionate MD who will prescribe percocet for me. I have been seen by GI doctors in the past who have flat out declared they will not give opiates under any circumstances to IBS sufferers. I think this is wrong and paternalistic to be refused the option of opiate therapy if it works.From all the research I've done on the internet, this is a discussion that is not going on in the medical community and its sad. I take 50 mg of elavil for pain and it doesn't do anything for me.One of the side effects of opiate therapy is constipation. It would seem that IBS-D suffers would benefit the most, while IBS-C people would have to be careful.Does anyone have strong feelings one way or the other about opiate treatment for IBS when antispasmotics and TCAs fails?

Advertisement

#2 G0NE

G0NE

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 11 January 2003 - 02:32 PM