CT Scans- what do they show for IBS?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_afr963_*

Guest_afr963_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 February 2001 - 08:07 PM

Advertisement
Hi all, I am new to this BB and I have posted three times here and no one has ever responded to my posts...am I doing something wrong? Please advise.I had an Abdominal & Pelvic CT Scan yesterday and wanted to know what they can show for IBS. The Barium gave me alot of gas afterwards...is this common?I was diagnosed with IBS by my primary Doc last month and went to a GI Doc last week and she ordered more blood work...all normal, checked stool...all normal. So now, I went for the CT Scan and next step is a colonoscopy next month which I am really scared about. I guess I am confused about my situation because I will have normal days usually 4-5 days then on Tues & Wed I feel like awlful. My bowel movements have changed, but no "D" or "C" just constant movements sometimes 4-6 times on those 2 days. Also, is it common to feel weird stuff going on with you stomach like, hard to explain but little bubbles or my doc says gas pockets all over?I would greatly appreciate any insight from you. This sight is wonderful for information. I started Caltrate about 3 weeks ago and does seem to help. I was on Bentyl, but my GI doc wanted me to stop until we figure out what's going on.Thanks for listening!

Advertisement

#2 Kathleen M.

Kathleen M.

Community Manager

• Community Managers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 34,904 posts

Posted 21 February 2001 - 08:17 PM