5 replies to this topic

#1 kc99

kc99

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts

Posted 07 June 2007 - 06:35 PM

Advertisement
Hello, I've been reading this bulletin board for several months, but this is my first time posting. I am thinking of trying some kind of probiotic supplement, but I'm not sure if that's right for me. I have had IBS for ~4 years now. The major symptoms are abdominal pain, bloating, and mild C that is controlled somewhat by a fiber supplement. Usually a normal day includes several trips to the bathroom, starting in the morning and continuing after lunch, and only after those several trips and a sense of "complete evacuation" does the pain start to subside, and then I feel relatively normal in the evening. Previously, I have tried Bentyl, which only made the C worse, and Zelnorm, which just caused massive D (which I never have otherwise). My next plan is to possibly try taking a probiotic supplement, perhaps Align or acidophilus; however, I am concerned that either of these (and especially Align) might worsen the C. In general, it seems like probiotics are much more effective treatments for IBS-D than they are for IBS-C. Has anyone tried probiotics for IBS-C?Thanks!

Advertisement

#2 Tiss

Tiss

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,217 posts

Posted 07 June 2007 - 09:32 PM

I have read where they are helpful for either. I just started on probiotiics after 2 weeks of amoxillin for an abscessed tooth. I have more gas but I've read (on the probiotics forum) that this is normal for a few weeks. It has not made my C worse.
Tiss

#3 Bethany Aubre

Bethany Aubre

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 08 June 2007 - 12:50 AM

I have IBS-C and use the Acidophillus Pearl from GNC. It helps some with the bloating and seems to really help with my cramps, and doesn't worsen the C at all. Everyone is different though, so you sort of have to find something that works for your body, but I highly recommend the Pearls. Good luck!

#4 kc99

kc99