4 replies to this topic

#1 cynthia

cynthia

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 23 June 2007 - 06:01 PM

Advertisement
I'm new to the fibromyalgia forum. I've been posting on the SIBO forum. I haven't been able to find threads here on the link between SIBO and fibro. Have there been any? Many with IBS have been subscribing to SIBO antibiotics. Are those with fibromyalgia doing the same? My son is a sufferer and I wanted to try the recommended antibiotic xifaxan. Would like to find any info on those who have done this too. Anyone?? Thanks

Advertisement

#2 M&M

M&M

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,148 posts

Posted 23 June 2007 - 08:20 PM

I am not aware of any link between SIBO and Fibromyalgia. I have read that SIBO is fairly common in Fibro patients, but it doesn't seem that the treatment for SIBO would affect Fibro. I did do a Google search, to see what kinds of articles are out there on the web about this topic, and here is a link to the results from my search!http://www.google.co...nd fibromyalgiaMaybe there will be some helpful information in there for you somewhere. Your son is a Fibromyalgia patient? If so, you might want to look at the threads on here regarding the new prescription drug Lyrica, that has just gotten FDA approval as the very first drug treatment specifically for Fibromyalgia!Please be sure to keep us posted on how he's getting on!
ME patient for the past 9 years

Illness is not something to feel ashamed of. It is not a sign of misfortune or defeat. Suffering is the fuel of wisdom, and it opens the way to happiness. Through illness, human beings can gain insight into the meaning of life, understand its value and dignity, and strive to lead more fulfilling lives. ~ Daisaku Ikeda

In life, it's not the bad things we do that hurt us, it's the good things we don't do. ~ Shmuley Boteach

#3 eric

eric

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 23,983 posts

Posted 24 June 2007 - 10:59 AM