#1 sailaway

sailaway

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts

Posted 31 July 2007 - 09:23 AM

Advertisement
[xposted from D forum]Advance apologies for the gross factor, but... I can't pass gas without mucous (and usually a little bit of D) coming out. Obviously, this is 1) uncomfortable, 2) horribly inconvenient, and 3) sometimes humiliating.History: I was diagnosed with IBS-D about 10 years ago by my gastro. It is stress-related, and sometimes it goes away completely for months to years at a time (so I know it's not celiac or LI). It's been about 2.5 years since my last really bad stretch with my IBS. I have tried the diet, the calcium, various of the lesser IBS drugs (immodium, those dissolving pills for the spasm/pains), more exercise, and acupuncture. All those things work to some extent, but the best thing is to eliminate stress (not always possible). I'm a teacher, so summer isn't so stressful, except I just went through a move. I come and go from this board depending on my IBS.My question: does anyone else have this problem, and if so, how do you deal with it?thanks,sailawayp.s. There was just an article in my local news about a woman with colitis who was stopped by a cop, begged to go to a bathroom, and ended up having to go behind a tree. She's suing. I hope she wins BIG!!

Advertisement

#2 sailaway

sailaway

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts

Posted 31 July 2007 - 04:10 PM

Apparently I *am* the only one with this problem. God, that's depressing.

#3 Haunted

Haunted

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 438 posts

Posted 01 August 2007 - 03:41 AM

Sometimes I also pass mucous when I pass gas. It doesn't happen that often, but I still find it very annoying when it does happen. When it happens it usually means that I have unfinished business in the bathroom. I really don't know what causes it.I have IBS-A btw.

#4 fairfax

fairfax

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 August 2007 - 10:02 PM