7 replies to this topic

#1 brian28

brian28

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 November 2007 - 10:59 AM

Advertisement
Hi all,I've been reading these boards for a long time now but this is my first time posting. Everyone seems to be very friendly here and genuinely care for one-another. I hope someone will be able to point me in the right direction regarding my current concern.I'm generally ibs-d and have been for the past almost 10 years (I'm 28 now). Been through the typical tests like sigmoidoscopy, cononoscopy, barium xray, biopsys, as well as many parasite/fecal/blood tests. I used to do fairly well controlling my symptoms by avoiding trigger foods and taking imodium. But every year my problems get worse and I'm now to the point of needing to take more meds. I don't take immodium much anymore except for bad days or if I anticipate problems.I have been taking Cholestyramine twice per day for months and it has been extremely helpful in controlling urgency and mucus so that I'm able to continue working. I'm far from feeling comparable to even just a few years ago, but it's a start. I've tried Dicitel for months as well but didn't notice any difference. My whole life I've always been the type of person who overanalyzes and worries about everything, so naturally I'm experiencing a lot of anxiety and worry anytime I go out due to my ibs. My doctor started me on Paxil on Friday and I've only taken 1 dose so far. However, for the first time in years I woke up in the middle of the night in need of going to the washroom. Wasn't too bad and went back to bed till the morning. Now after getting up and having my normal breakfast (toast or dry cereal) I had to rush into the washroom with bad diarrhea. Since then I've gone 3 more times in 2 hours, almost comparable to the diarrhea experienced when drinking the laxative in prep for my colonoscopy....obviously not as bad, but still terrible.One of the side effects of Paxil is possible diarrhea which I was concerned about