20 replies to this topic

#1 Theo

Theo

• Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 March 2008 - 02:58 PM

Advertisement
Hello all,I've suffered from IBS (alternating between C and D) for many years now. Just recently, I've had another flair up and I'm starting to get concerned because for the last few weeks, I've seen mucous in my stool.I'm a school teacher, male, 40 years old.In mid-February, I had a break from school and my bowels were fairly normal. I had a BM every day, firm, compact. Not painful to pass. However, since then, it's been pretty miserable.I thought perhaps it's stress (since now I'm back to work with the little kids and facing report cards, Union contract problems, etc.) so I thought maybe that's why my "C" has come back in full force.This last Monday (March 3) I gave myself an enema... and things came out okay.Tuesday, March 4, I had diarrhea and attributed that to giving myself the enema the day before.Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday... no action whatsoever...and return of bloating. So last night (Friday, March 7) I gave myself another enema. I had a BM, but noticed mucous in the toilet (not new, I've noticed my stool coated in it before).I slept okay but this morning I felt as if I had to pass gass. However, instead of gas, some mucous came out. (A "wet fart" I call it for lack of a better term :( )I'm just wondering if passing mucous can be evidence of IBS? Or is it something more serious?I have a dr. appointment on Monday to discuss my digestive problems.I'm very afraid he may suggest a colonoscopy. I fear that because I've heard horror stories about how terrible the taste of the prep. is... as well as staying on the toilet all day as I'm "cleaned out". I heard the actual procedure itself, if I ask to be asleep during it, isn't terribly bad.I guess I'm hoping and praying that the mucous isn't something terribly unusual?I'm a worrier by nature...so I've spent the last few days crying (literraly), thinking that I have some serious disease such a