6 replies to this topic

#1 wouldbehero

wouldbehero

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 March 2008 - 08:32 AM

Advertisement
Im a bit worried about try the probiotic drinks, as they seem quite yoghurty/milky? has any one else got lactose intolerance and can take them? or is there any alertnative to the drinks? plus whats the costs cos im a student and have nooooooo monies.

Advertisement

#2 Kathleen M.

Kathleen M.

Community Manager

• Community Managers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 34,855 posts

Posted 19 March 2008 - 11:13 AM

Generally probiotic drinks or foods (yogurts) have a lot less lactose than the milk they came from. You can sometimes find soy based ones (although soy can cause gas as well).The probiotic bacteria in them, in theory, should help the lactose intolerance as they produce no gas when they consume the lactose.You might want to try probiotic bacteria in a capsule rather than in a drink if you are really concerned. Or just take a Lactaid tablet with the probiotics drink.K.
My story of beating IBS: My Story with IBS
Ph.D in Biology

#3 code9

code9

• Banned
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts

Posted 19 March 2008 - 12:06 PM

Have you been tested for lactose intolerance? I've found that just because you cannot process dairy well, does not necessarily mean you have problems with lactose sugar.Which means something that breaks down lactose sugar wouldn't necessarily help at all. There are lots of probiotic formulations that specifically have no dairy, or very miniscule amounts used to culture the probiotics.Culturelle seems pretty decent to me, but I can't say it's had any drastic effect, but of the many, many probiotics I've taken, it's the one I think that probably has the most benefit.If I remember correctly, it is cultured on whey, but it doesn't bother me. I've had a lactose sugar test, and it was fine, but still can't touch most dairy. I think there must be something else to it beyond lactose intolerance.

#4 mariea369

mariea369

• Members
  • Pip