15 replies to this topic

#1 mdstudentibs

mdstudentibs

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 December 2008 - 12:19 PM

Advertisement
Hi I'm new here.I tried to search for this, but couldn't find anything.Basically, I'm wondering if anyone else has had problems with generic loperamide. I had taken Imodium for the past three years and it has given me back a normal life. I take anywhere from 10-30 pills a week, so it gets quite expensive. I'm a student right now and strapped for cash, so decided to buy the Meijer brand loperamide this week when I ran out of Imodium.The first day of taking the generic loperamide I was in the bathroom several times, something that doesn't happen with the Imodium. Then, I had severe stomach cramps that night, something else I've never experienced with the Imodium. Then it seemed to work for a few days, but now this morning I have terrible D. Worse than ever in the past three years. It's worse than when I would take breaks from the Imodium in the past. So does anyone else find they can only take one brand of loperamide? Or is this some sort of mental thing going on with me? I'm also wondering if I could have some sort of sromach bug, but that would be quite ironic.Thanks for any help you might be able to offer!

Advertisement

#2 clareuk

clareuk

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 414 posts

Posted 13 December 2008 - 01:08 PM

I used to take immodiums over the counter and then after seeing my doctor they put me on Loperamide. I have to say that I was worried about swapping over, but my doctor assured me that they were exactly the same. I didn't find any problems at all and they worked exactly the same as the immodiums did. I'm not sure where you are from, but if from the UK I managed to get a repeat perscription of Loperamide (60 capsules) which works out much cheaper than buying them over the counter. So no problems at all with me I also find it is better to take them everyday rather than missing days.