Advertisement

Photo

What causes bad smelling bowel movements?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 perretts

perretts

• Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 01 March 2009 - 05:45 PM

Advertisement
I am fairly new to IBS, since a strong dose of antibiotics took a toll on my digestive system in Sept/08.Since then, I have been taking high doses of probiotics, digestive enzymes, and a few other supplements. I have adjusted my diet, eliminating sugars, and fatty foods completely. Recently, I have added a fibre supplement. Although all these things appear to be of benefit, I still feel that something is still not right.I have been trying to gain weight, after going down to under 100 lbs last September, and although I have gained about 4lbs, I am having a difficult time with weight gain. I believe that part of the problem is lack of absorbtion of what I am eating.I am looking for causes to the bad smelling bowel movements, as I feel this is the result of something not being right in my digestion.I do have an appointment with a gastroenterologist on tuesday, so perhaps he can offer some explanation of what is wrong with my gut.Sherry

Advertisement

#2 Kathleen M.

Kathleen M.

Community Manager

• Community Managers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 34,800 posts

Posted 01 March 2009 - 06:31 PM