Nervous - General Discussion - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Nervous

colonoscopy colon cancer

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 simply_inspired

simply_inspired

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 01:58 PM

Advertisement
Hello, I'm new to this and needed to vent out a little bit. I'm 27 year old, female and getting my first colonoscopy done this Friday. The only problem I noticed was my bowel movements back in May when I noticed what appeared to be a line going down them. I have occasionally pencil thin stools and some diarrhea and I'll feel backed up when I eat "fatty" foods. I usually try to maintain a healthy lifestyle which is gluten free since I also suffer from psoriasis. But yes, I'm so scared and nervous to have this colonoscopy done. I'm freaked out they will find something. I've seen a few post regarding some people having gone through the same thing but not much information. I noticed it everyday before and sometimes now I barely see it or notice it. Wondering if anyone else can give me advice on what to expect for a colonoscopy.

#2 erinelizabeth

erinelizabeth

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:23 PM

Are you scared of the procedure or of what they will find?
The procedure isn't bad at all. I didn't feel a thing. The prep was the worst part. Just make sure you stay within constant reach of a bathroom all day. Stock up on clear fluids (nothing red) like broth and jellos. I didn't have any abdominal cramps. And since I had horrible constipation it felt good to finally "go" allbeit a lot!
If your symptoms have diminished I'd say that's a good thing. Just be happy that you are getting the procedure done and take it from there.

#3 simply_inspired

simply_inspired

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 12:28 AM

Are you scared of the procedure or of what they will find?