I think I have IBS, and I have the courage to try seeing a GI again - Welcome! - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

I think I have IBS, and I have the courage to try seeing a GI again

diagnosis IBS diarrhea doctor gastroenterologist stress urgency cramping bloating exercise

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 pootoomuch

pootoomuch

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 01:09 PM

Advertisement
It all started…
In the fall of 2007, I began noticing persistent diarrhea and stomach cramping. Most problematic, though, was the urgency to go to the bathroom. I am a musician, and I was in a doctoral program. Rehearsals typically lasted 2 ½ hours with no break. I play a heavy, awkward instrument, and my stand is almost as heavy and awkward. I had always considered it too cumbersome to bring to rehearsals, but I found that I needed to so that I could safely put my instrument down and run to the bathroom. I got weird looks from conductors. Classes were two hours long, usually at an oversized conference table in an undersized room; kind of like trying to navigate church pews. I found myself trying to sit in the back next to the door, which made required class participation a bit difficult.

I saw my doctor, and she ordered a stool sample to make sure I didn’t have a parasite. I didn’t, so she referred me to a gastroenterologist. Over the next six months, I saw Dr. F. He did another stool test and tests for lactose intolerance and celiac, and finally a colonoscopy. They found nothing, and sent me on my way, saying I could take as much Pepto Bismol as I wanted. I found it very unsatisfying and discouraging.