School Troubles - Young Adult's Issues - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

School Troubles

school ibs-d homeschool homebound teen

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 dfslow13

dfslow13

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 10:41 PM

Advertisement

Hi everyone, 

I'm new to this whole forum thing and don't really know what I'm supposed to be doing but I am looking for some advice and I suppose a little empathy in regards to the situation I am currently dealing with. 

I was diagnosed with IBS - D sometime in 2012 from my GI. (I had suffering from these symptoms since my junior year in high school. I am now a senior and will be turning 18 in about a month)  After doing a bunch of tests including a barium swallow, an endoscopy, and a colonoscopy... basically the whole ruling everything out procedure... he gave me the diagnosis. I have been prescribed with some anti-anxiety medication and taken two round of antibiotics for intestinal bacterial overgrowth. I also have weekly therapy sessions with a doctor who specializes in patients with IBS in order to improve my anxiety and the way that I handle this disorder. In regards to medical things I feel that I have been doing everything right. 

When I am having symptoms and flare ups, which happens nearly every day, I am in a lot of pain and need to spend a lot of time in the bathroom, and then resting, to calm my stomach down. Because of this illness I miss a lot of school, and as you can probably imagine, it is making my life very difficult.