My Story - Finally Going to Try Rifaximin. How do I make the most of it? - Your Story - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

My Story - Finally Going to Try Rifaximin. How do I make the most of it?

rifaximin SIBO IBS-C

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 CanadianGuy

CanadianGuy

• Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 11 August 2014 - 01:18 PM

Advertisement
Where I'm Coming From:

Hi everyone, I'm from southern Ontario, Canada and I've been dealing with IBS-C for over 12 years. I have visited this forum many times over the years, but this is my first time signing up and posting. The IBS problems started for me when I was in high school and has altered the course of my life and is in part responsible for where I am today. I've had somewhat good months/years and really bad ones. Right now I'm having a bad year and I'm hoping that I will get some relief by trying rifaximin.

I'm posting this looking for some advice and to see if anyone can relate, but if nobody replies at least this will have helped me sort out my thoughts. 

The Protocol I'm Going to Try:

- 10-day course of Rifaximin (Zaxine brand in Canada) 550mg 2x a day
AND
- 10-day course of Ratio-Nystatin anti-fungal.

I believe that this is based on a version of the protocol used for IBS by Dr. Mark Hyman, an American medical doctor who practices functional medicine and recognizes SIBO as a contributor to IBS. He has been on the Dr. Oz show and has written several books, one of which was recommended to me a few years ago by the same MD who wrote me this rifaximin prescription here in Ontario.