Fast Tract Diet for IBS - Diet - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Fast Tract Diet for IBS

Fast Tract IBS-A IBS-M Diet Fermentation

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 weathergirl15

weathergirl15

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 18 October 2014 - 11:27 AM

Advertisement

So, I am new to IBS, but not new to digestive/health issues. Diagnosed with sarcoma (cancer) in 2006 and was treated with radiation and two surgeries. Since then, needed three additional surgeries due to incarcerated hernias/bowel blockages from intestinal adhesions, all related to having had the treatment for cancer.  Plus, had gallbladder out in 2004, so sadly six surgeries in total in abdominal/intestinal area.  A few months back, one of my surgical scars from one of two bowel resections last year opened up/got infected. Stupidly, I allowed doctors to treat me with an antibiotic called Keflex -- too powerful of an antibiotic for someone with a compromised digestive/intestinal system. 

Anyhow, the Keflex threw my stomach into an absolute tailspin 4 months ago, which has yet to resolve itself. Tons of gas, bloating, pain, flatulence, rumbling, rotating between constipation and diarrhea for a month now.  Doctor put me on Rifaximin/Xifaxin to treat likely SIBO (small intestine bacterial overgrowth - very likely I already had because I've had bloating and gas for years, but not the intense rumbling I have now or the rotation between diarrhea and constipation (never had this on any kind of regular/normal basis, just post radiation and surgeries, as I recovered, but quickly cleared up, but now I have on daily basis.

Anyhow, I really believe what the author talks about in Fast Tract diet book - learn more at

digestivehealthinstitute.org, so I am trying that to see if it will help resolve SIBO/IBS.