Question about coffee - IBS Diarrhea (IBS-D) - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Question about coffee

diarrhea caffeine ibs nausea urgency coffee intolerance question advice help

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 introvertebrate

introvertebrate

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 December 2014 - 12:19 AM

Advertisement
Hi there,

I'm a 23 year old female, and I absolutely cannot tolerate any amount of caffeine, and never have been able to. I only ever have coffee when I'm studying for big exams, but every single time, without a single exception, the same thing happens:

I wait until it's cool enough to just guzzle, then I try to just dump the whole mug down my throat as quick as is humanly possible... and I've never once been able to get more than 1/2 way through the mug before I've very, very suddenly (and very, very urgently) had to BOLT to the toilet for some truly awful diarrhea... but it's never just over after that. Each and every time, I spend the next 2 entire hours (or more!) running back and forth from the toilet every 5-15 minutes... and there's no hint of exaggeration there. In fact, most of the time nowadays I actually just bring my notes with me and stay on the toilet while studying for the first hour, and then just study on the floor of the bathroom for the second hour (it disrupts my studying less than having to run between separate rooms a dozen times).

For those 2+ hours, I also always have mild stomach pains and really, really strong nausea.