What do you think? New to IBS, but not sure! - General Discussion - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

What do you think? New to IBS, but not sure!

Pain Back Pain Left Side Pain Abdominal Pain Under Ribs Pain diarrhea

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 sheldog

sheldog

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 20 January 2015 - 02:55 PM

Advertisement

So I'm new to IBS, 28 year old Male. Here is the short story, I began having bloating and abdominal pains and saw some blood in my stool. Freaked me out, after that the pain and bloating got worse, with Diarrhea incoming a lot. I went to a Gastro Doc who suggested I get a Colonoscopy because of my family history of Colon Cancer and polyps. Good thing I did, found precancerous polyps (what was causing the blood), but would not cause the pain. After getting my colon all cleaned up the pain still persisted, lower left abdominal pain, also pain in the left lower back, and under/behind my ribs. The pain isn't what I would call sever, just annoying more than anything, and it can go away for an hour or 30 min when my mind is preoccupied by something else.  The Gastro Doc said that it is IBS based on the pain location and occasional D (just about every other day), sometimes mucus in stool. 

Because of the constant pain, I told her that maybe a CT scan just to make sure there was nothing else. The CT of my pelvis and abdomen came back normal. My Doc told me that it is common for people with IBS to have constant pain in these area's

I've read through the posts on here, but as most IBS people know, you always seem to think it's something else :/

Does anyone else have these chronic symptoms like I have going on 4 months now?

I'm just really new to IBS. I didn't know IBS could be diagnosed at my age 28, but precancerous polyps are not common for 28 year old either ;)