25 y.o. male prescribed Effexor XR (150mg) & Xanax (0.5mg) - Diarrhea Prescription Medications - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

25 y.o. male prescribed Effexor XR (150mg) & Xanax (0.5mg)

ibs-d diarrhea anxiety stress xanax effexor moving bloating urgency

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 mswan12

mswan12

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 13 April 2015 - 06:59 PM

Advertisement

Hello All!

This is my first time to post in the forum. I'm really glad I found this site a few weeks ago. It's been comforting to know I'm not alone.

While driving (moving) to Seattle from Kansas City, my grandmother had a stroke. I began having anxiety and diarrhea (especially in the morning) that was arguably some of the worst I've had. 

I've always had IBS-D  with urgency issues (and bloating, gas, cramps, abdominal discomfort etc), but this flare up was especially bad. 

Honestly, I feel like a lot of it was mental. Leaving my job of four years, leaving home again, leaving a serious relationship, a dying grandmother, new job jitters etc. 

Now that my grandmother has passed away, I need to make up my mind on whether or not i want to go back to Seattle to take the job. 

But i'm nervous about being in a new city with my agoraphobia tendencies: not knowing where bathrooms are, using public transit, not knowing my 'safety' restaurants, and finding a good living situation.  

I went to my family doctor, poured my heart out about the dilemma, after reviewing my lifestyle, he agreed that I should try medication to curb anxiety which would hopefully relax my gut. He said many anti-depressants will slow down the digestive tract.

I took the 0.5mg Xanax the day he prescribed. I felt sick to my stomach for about 10 minutes (then it went away), I felt a little foggy and slow, but not too bad the rest of the day. I took it two days later again, for the cemetery funeral (no bathrooms) and was just fine! :)