Seeking advice on dealing with chronic idiopathic constipation - IBS Constipation (IBS-C) and Chronic Constipation - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Seeking advice on dealing with chronic idiopathic constipation

CIC

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Akiva

Akiva

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 21 May 2015 - 10:39 PM

Advertisement

This is my first time posting here, so I'll start with my story.

I'm a 47-year-old guy who suffered frequent emotional abuse as a child. It almost did me in. If it were not for several family members and helpful counselors, I wouldn't have survived that trauma or be here today.

Seven years ago, I went through an extremely traumatic event that triggered PTSD from my childhood abuse. Overnight, my bowel habits changed. My pelvic muscles wouldn't relax like they used to. Intermittently, I had to strain to have a bowel movement. I could go daily, and I would feel fairly well cleaned out, but I still did not feel that I was evacuating completely. I talked to my doctor about it. He recommended more fiber, water, and exercise and said as long as I could keep going daily, I shouldn't be concerned.

Then I developed chronic testicular pain, lower back pain, and sciatic nerve pain three years ago, which the doctors couldn't pinpoint the cause of. I now think it was probably caused by the intermittent straining to go poop, and I feel stupid because I just didn't put two and two together when I was going through all the testing to determine what was causing it. I even went to a urologist who wanted to take out part of my right testicle. I'm glad I didn't go through with that.