I recently fixed my IBS-D, it's gone. - Your Story - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

I recently fixed my IBS-D, it's gone.

IBS FMT HELP TREATMENT

• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 acureisoutthere

acureisoutthere

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 497 posts

Posted 14 June 2015 - 06:58 AM

Advertisement

Hi,

I used to have IBS-D.  After many, many months of struggling, I found out about the FODMAP diet.  This helped me, if I was realy careful to avoid certain foods.  It made life better, but I still couldn't eat normally, and I still would have occasional flare ups.

I began researching FMTs  (fecal microbiome transplants), and the Human Microbiome.  I spent a year researching this.  The more I studied, the more I realized this is something I needed to do.

I had tried many probiotics, but at best they only gave a small temporary help, not the cure I was after.

So, I studied FMTs.  I found that Dr. Brandt in New York only achieved a 50% success rate for IBS, while success rates for FMTs for Clostridium Difficile were as high as 80 to 90 %.  So, I asked myslef why, what is going wrong.  I finally concluded it was the procedure.  They were doing something wrong.

So, I changed the procedure.  I did not use the blender method to homogenize the sample with sterile saline, to make the slurry for the transplant.  Instead, I used a zip lock bag, added a little sterile saline and homogenized it in there.  I also had sterile surgical gloves on.  An easy and clean procedure.

I also tried to reduce exposure of the sample to air, as much as possible.  (this is another good reason for not using a blender)   Some intestinal bacteria start to die when explosed to air.