I first noticed my IBS when I was 13 - Your Story - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo
- - - - -

I first noticed my IBS when I was 13

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

Prolific Member

• Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 369 posts

Posted 07 February 2001 - 12:23 AM

Advertisement
I first noticed my IBS (although I didn't know what it was called then or that it wasn't even normal) when I was about 13 in 1980. It first started when I would go to the Mall with friends. I always mad the JCPenny's restroom my first stop and then I would be OK to shop for the afternoon. I never considered that it may not be normal, I just figured it was "just me". Life went on, I went to high school with not many problems and really no classroom disruptions for myself in having to make a bathroom run. I graduated from high school in 1985 and went on to college at UC Irvine. That's when my IBS went from mild to severe. I remember distinctly sitting in class during a lecture ( it was a small class that I couldn't leave discreetly) and having cramps so painful that I very nearly passed out. I fought to stay conscious and not let on to my fellow students that I was fighting this until class let out about 20 minutes later. I struggled to get to a bathroom, trying not to walk completely hunched over and just made it. I was completely emotionally and physically spent for the rest of the day. I would have episodes like that off and on for the next 2 years or so- always when I wasn't near a bathroom, like in the car or some place like that. I had to make "potty stops" every so often when I just couldn't control the cramping anymore. I also learned where ALL the restrooms were on campus and it just became part of normal life for me. I still didn't feel very well alot of the time and so my doctor ordered a glucose tolerance test- which was just barely normal. I was told they called it Imitation Hypoglycemia and to treat myself as if I had it eve