Working on a FODMAP app, would love your feedback - Apps and Media - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo
- - - - -

Working on a FODMAP app, would love your feedback

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ibsonaut

ibsonaut

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 13 November 2015 - 10:36 AM

Advertisement

I've had IBS for 15 years and the last year I've found great relief in the low FODMAP diet. If I follow it correctly I don't have any symptoms BUT - it is a complicated diet. Especially the re-introduction phase is a struggle for me. So, being a programmer I started this project to help me create a journal of what I eat and what my symptoms are. Part of the app is a database with food items and recipes - which is now live on the web. Would love to get some feedback on the web app (a mobile app is in the works too) - try it out here (it is totally free)

• jaumeb likes this

#2 jaumeb

jaumeb

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1607 posts

Posted 13 November 2015 - 01:19 PM

Nice pictures. It says POLYOIS instead of POLYOLS.

#3 ibsonaut

ibsonaut

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 13 November 2015 - 02:12 PM

Thanks for the feedback - totally missed that, will fix :-)

#4 tummyrumbles

tummyrumbles

Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 744 posts

Posted 14 November 2015 - 05:12 PM

The problem is that you're making a lot of assumptions. Just because something is low FODMAP doesn't mean it's IBS friendly. You will really steer people down the wrong path with advice like this. If you can tolerate any kind of bread at all then you have a completely different IBS to me. The worse food of all for me is starch, and the low-FODMAP breads are extremely high in starch, much worse than FODMAP breads. 

http://www.ibsgroup....y-cause-of-ibs/

http://www.ibsgroup....f-common-foods/