New to IBS - looking for diet supplement - Diet - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

New to IBS - looking for diet supplement

IBS; Garden of Life Vitamin Code; Supplements Diet balancing for IBS

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 gokirop

gokirop

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 February 2016 - 08:00 PM

Advertisement

Dear all,

I am new to IBS and going through a sort of an elimination phase meaning that I do not have a balanced diet. Therefore, I have looked into different vitamin/diet supplements and this is the best my amateur eye could distinct from the numerous products out there. I would appreciate it greatly if you could say if it seems like a good idea to take this (why not?). Also, alternatives or some other supplements advices would be great.

http://www.iherb.com...ggie-Caps/12616

Thanks in advance.

Best,

Gokirop

#2 AndyTheRD

AndyTheRD

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 February 2016 - 03:04 PM

Hey,

As a registered dietitian I would advise caution against "elimination" phases.  If you are cutting out certain foods from a food group, make sure to compensate ( ie; replace dairy with soy/almond milk,  replace broccoli with spinach)

Here is a quick list of 5 foods that it actually makes sense to avoid if you have IBS: http://www.andytherd.com/#!5-Foods-to-Limit-if-You-Have-Digestive-Issues-or-Irritable-Bowel-Syndrome-IBS/b7hsi/56c388c10cf2da78df4f9957

As far as your supplement goes, I suppose it may be a decent idea to use it if you are eliminating foods in a unbalanced manner. But I do not recommend you do that in the first place, you should not need a vitamin/mineral supplement if you are careful with how you eat.

Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: IBS;, Garden of Life Vitamin Code;, Supplements, Diet balancing for IBS

Advertisement

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise With Us | Disclaimer | Terms of Service | Crisis Resources