Just Diagnosed...Help Please. - General Discussion - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Just Diagnosed...Help Please.

IBS just diagnosehelp abdomen pain bloating constipation fiber anxiety and depression diagnosed enema swollen

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 flaxseed123

flaxseed123

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 15 March 2016 - 10:55 PM

Advertisement

I am a college student and I've just been diagnosed with IBS-C. And I need HELP.

Background

• Had stomach surgery a few years ago for a perforated stomach lining- a surgery that resulted in various problems with my digestive system. I've had bathroom troubles, food troubles, and body-image troubles ever since
  • Surgery also induced severe PTSD as well as anxiety and depression
  • (Surgery or anxiety) caused severe abdominal bloating and distention so bad, that it is hard to live life normally. Worsens depression and anxiety
  • Bloating starts when I wake up and keeps me up at night. Off and on-- can go weeks with a flat stomach, or can go weeks being bloated
  • Have gone to hospital numerous times for enemas and chocolate bombs, but every three months, have to go back
  • Take omeprozole, a probiotic, and two cups of miralax daily (dulcolax when needed)
  • Just began taking Amitiza twice a day
  • Bathroom troubles persist... can go weeks without going

Diagnosed

• After being diagnosed recently, I began looking online at forums and realized I'm not alone
  • Went to the hospital today for an enema and emptied out, but my abdomen is still all swollen and bloated and hurts very badly 
  • I drink a lot of water and eat 25-35 g of fiber daily 
  • I exercise every day but have been unable to do any strenuous activity the past week because of the severity of my bloating