New to this forum... - Welcome! - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

New to this forum...

acid reflux gerd ibs

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

• Guests

Posted 16 August 2016 - 10:59 AM

Advertisement

Hi everyone

I've never tried a forum before, but i was googling stuff online today (which i know i shouldn't do!) and found this. I'm 27 years old and have been suffering with GERD and IBS for about 3 years now.

I had stomach issues when i was younger, but nothing this bad. About 3 years ago my stomach started feeling very very bad. Burning, nausea, vomiting almost every morning before work, trouble eating, all that stuff. I asked my family doctor and he said i was too young to have acid reflux. went back a while later, and he finally gave me something for it, Tecta (Pantoprazole magnesium). I did start to notice a difference. My stomach wasn't as bad as it was, but it still sucked.

I went for all sorts of xrays and stuff, the tube down my throat, everything. They found nothing majorly wrong, which i guess i should have been happy about, but i wasn't. They said the only thing they noticed was acid reflux. I was crushed that they couldn't find an answer, even if it was cancer or something. I switched doctors about 1.5 years ago. Got a bunch of blood tests on everything from Chrohn's Disease to Celiac Disease. Once again, nothing. I cried when I heard the news.