85% cured my GERD/IBS - Your Story - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

- - - - -

85% cured my GERD/IBS

ibs gerd sibo omeprazole prilosec dgl probiotics culturelle stress endoscopy

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

• Guests

Posted 18 August 2016 - 01:41 PM

Advertisement

Hello, I'm 20 years old and going to college and working. My whole life I have had a very bad diet of fast food and just a lack of healthy foods. I have been playing top level sports until I graduated high school in 2014. My diet got worse once I entered college because of the fast paced lifestyle, and I stopped exercising. I've had no problems with digestion until the beginning of 2016. One day, our of nowhere I started having a constant burning sensation in my stomach and random D, not C. Once I got sick of the burning upset stomachs, I completely dropped coffee, fried, fast, citrus, and you know, the well known triggers. The burning and indigestion got so bad I had to see a doctor. I was tired of taking tums and pepto.

Of course, my doctor prescribed me 20mg of omeprazole. I took it once in the morning for a few months. Burning remained. I had only had heartburn like twice. Most of the burning resided in my stomach area. Focusing on work and school and other things was very difficult. I called my doctor had him refer me to a GI. My GI was very confused because it didn't sound like traditional acid reflux, so he told me to double my omeprazole doses to two 20mg pills a day. Plus, he scheduled an endoscopy and stomach emptying test. I asked him if digestive enzymes or probiotics could help, he told me, "No. your body produces enough of that on your own." And also told me to not take supplements like Ginger or L-glutamine, DGL, because they aren't FDA regulated and could be modified for profits.

Endoscopy...results came back normal, slight inflammation, nothing abnormal.

Stomach emptying test...Normal.