Can anything be ruled out from these symptoms? - IBS Constipation (IBS-C) and Chronic Constipation - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Can anything be ruled out from these symptoms?

constipation GERD heartburn SIBO

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 whatyes

whatyes

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 23 September 2017 - 09:25 AM

Advertisement

Hi everyone,

I've been reading these forums for a little while now but this is my first time posting. I'm a 33 year old female who has been struggling with chronic constipation for some time now and I'm wondering if anything can be inferred or ruled out based on my symptoms and what has worked for me and what hasn't.

Symptoms:

• chronic constipation for most of my life (my earliest memory is 7th grade), hard dry stools with bowel movements maybe every 5 days
  • within the past 5 years constipation worsened and caused lack of hunger and GERD, bloating and flatulence
  • anxiety
  • depression

What has helped:

• increasing fluids
  • magnesium citrate (this caused me to be very regular but also caused anxiety so I had to stop taking it, I'm thinking of trying oxide to see if this is better tolerated)
  • Colace (softens the stools but does not help to keep things moving so I end up with many small bowel movements in a day)
  • black cherry juice (taken along with Colace this keeps things moving)
  • senna tea (usually produces a bowel movement the next day)

What has not helped:

• low-FODMAP diet (this helps with bloating and heartburn symptoms but not with constipation)
  • increased fiber
  • low-carb diet (this helped my lack of hunger, but not my constipation)
  • prunes and prune juice (help somewhat but cause a lot of bloating and gas)