Introductions (Advice requested) - General Discussion - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Introductions (Advice requested)

new digestive health concerns not diagnosed yet

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 kconafly

kconafly

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 20 July 2018 - 12:21 PM

Advertisement

Hello,

I'm new to this and I suspect I have IBS or something similar. Have not yet been diagnosed.

About me:  Obese, diabetic but controlled with medication, fairly sedentary job and lifestyle but trying to change that, ADHD, significant anxiety daily and occasional mild depression.

Had some scary stomach pains in recent months, bloating, a feeling like I had a fist right below my breast bone, fatigue, some tingling of my hands and feet from time to time, constipation and occasional diarrhea,  I grind my teeth and have most of my life, GERD,

On diabetes medication (not insulin) and taking generic prescription generic Prilosec, (and now an OTC Pepcid AC)

After some painful bouts of GERD and bloating I stopped drinking carbonated soda, my daily iced coffee, avoiding spicy and fatty foods most of the time, I also went on a largely gluten-free diet, using gluten free alternatives and avoiding gluten as much as possible, started eating smaller portions, etc. My GERD symptoms have improved.

I also had a colonoscopy and endoscopy performed recently.  To my surprise everything came back clear. No signs of cancer, ulcers, tested for celiacs, H. Pylori, and Barret's esophagus and all normal. 

I have reintroduced limited amounts a gluten into my diet without too much distress.  Still avoiding soda, and only occasionally having a coffee. With the Prilosec and Pepcid my GERD symptoms have diminished.

My current concerns: