Sharing a bathroom with 4 other people? TIPS - Young Adult's Issues - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Sharing a bathroom with 4 other people? TIPS

university bathroom tips flat housemate toilet college

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 louder12

louder12

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 October 2018 - 04:42 AM

Advertisement

Hi all,

This is my first post on here, as I need some advice.

I have been diagnosed with IBS-A going hand in hand with my Anxiety Disorders (PTSD and GAD). Both of which I have medication for but only take during bad days as I don't want to be dependant on anything (Ativan as a short term solution for my anxiety - I was previously on Paxil, and Colofac and avoiding trigger foods for IBS).

I am a first-year student studying at University, and I have been fortunate with this year's accommodation as I received a small studio room with a private bathroom. It has been a blessing as the biggest issue with my IBS is not the symptoms but the social embarrassment and pressure which comes with trying to hide my invisible illnesses. 

However, I am about to sign a lease with a friend (who knows to a degree what I'm going through) to be sublet into a 5 bedroom 1 bathroom apartment for next year. It is perfect in terms of location, price, and build quality in the midst of my city's housing crisis. The toilet is separate from the shower which is a good thing, but I am worried about sharing it with 4 other people.

I often have loose stools and urgency especially when my anxiety is taking its toll. I am also in the habit of going 3-4 times before leaving to go to class or somewhere else for the day. I am really worried that someone will notice my weird bathroom habits or that I won't be able to make it at all.