11 replies to this topic

#1 IBSnewcomer2019

IBSnewcomer2019

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 June 2019 - 11:22 AM

Advertisement

I'm brand new to this IBS....just got the list of do's and don'ts with fodmap foods.  How in the world do I make a good Italian sauce without onions and garlic?  is there something to substitute for it?  Also so many ethnic dishes and soups start with onion and garlic, how will I cook without it?

#2 flossy

flossy

Very Prolific Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2133 posts

Posted 07 June 2019 - 05:11 PM

Hello IBSnewcomer2019 and welcome to the board.

I don't adhere to the fodmap food diet, but I noticed the same things you did.

I have IBS-C and use Dr. Schulze's Intestinal Formula # 1 daily. It also has garlic in it. I also eat a lot of pasta with spaghetti sauce and put a ton of garlic and onions in it, it helps with my BM's.

I guess it matters what kind of IBS you have.... What kind do you have (IBS-D, IBS-C or IBS-A)?

#3 spencermm

spencermm

• Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 16 June 2019 - 12:55 PM

I'm 4 weeks on it and having good results, 80-90% symptom free after 2 years of hell with ibs-d.

I cook A LOT, life long, so I feel your pain.  Nearly everything savory I cooked has garlic and/or onion.

It can be done and it IS WAY different, but I find it was a question of priorities and how severe the symptoms are.

I hate to admit it, but A) a good red sauce takes time that I don't frequently have, and B) Coupled with A, I find store bought to be a good option for my circumstances.

So, that said, Preggo has a sauce called Sensitive something with no onions or garlic.  It's not bad.  I've used it for spaghetti(GF pasta) and as pizza sauce.  It's pretty good.  I've seen it at Kroger and Amazon sells it.