Introduction, Looking for Support - Welcome! - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Introduction, Looking for Support

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 cjd19941

cjd19941

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

• IBS Penpal

Posted 10 September 2020 - 06:09 PM

Advertisement

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the site and this is my first time posting. I'm a man in my mid-twenties that is otherwise pretty healthy and have been suffering from persistent nausea, gnawing, and overall discomfort in my stomach for the past three months. It began shortly after I couldn't control a bowel movement and had an accident while walking in the woods with some family members. Scary? Yes Embarrassing? Yes. Humiliating? Yes. Traumatic? Also, yes. Ever since then, I have been hesitant to go out in public (especially anywhere without a nearby bathroom), ride in a car with someone else, eat or have drinks with other people, and have even found myself to get anxious when the bathroom in my apartment is occupied by one of my roommates. And it's even been difficult engaging in any sort of conversation or meeting as I get stuck between trying to half-halfheartedly engage with the conversation and managing to ignore or remedy any digestive discomfort that might be present. This reality is, naturally, throwing a gigantic wrench into my professional life, but more on that later...