Embarrassing stomach noises - Gas / Flatulence / Bloating - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo

Embarrassing stomach noises

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mik66

mik66

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 September 2020 - 05:03 PM

Advertisement

Hello everyone, I created account here just to make this thread.

My stomach is making gurgling and growling noises and since as a student I have to spend most of my time in quiet environments, this has become a big problem. I believe that the noise is caused by gas moving through my intestines. I'm not sure whether the main issue is with excessive gas building up, gas not passing through, getting "stuck" somewhere, or both.

Here is what I've tried so far

Diets, eating, home remedies:

• Low FODMAP diet, Vegan diet, Carnivore diet, Gluten free diet - neither helped or made any noticeable difference
  • Fasting - didn't help
  • Eating slowly and eating small portions - this helps a little but doesn't eliminate the noises
  • Drinking peppermint or chamomile tea - didn't help
  • Drinking baking soda with water - didn't help
  • I don't chew gum, don't smoke and don't drink coffee or carbonated drinks

Exercises:

• Taking a walk makes it a little easier for a while but the stomach noises come back after 10 or so minutes
  • Wind-Relieving pose (Pawanmuktasana) - this sometimes helps to release some gas but I'm still bloated and full of gas even after doing this exercise for 20 minutes or even longer

Medication:

• Gas-X - kind of helps to pass some gas but I still remain bloated and my stomach continues to make noises
  • Charcoal, Betaine HCL, Omeprazole, Alflorex Precison Biotics, Pantoprazole - didn't help