Atkins Diet as a troubleshooting tool to find the cause of IBS Symptoms - Your Story - IBS Self Help and Support Group Forums - IBSgroup.org
Advertisement

Photo
- - - - -

Atkins Diet as a troubleshooting tool to find the cause of IBS Symptoms

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

• Validating
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 14 November 2001 - 03:04 PM

Advertisement
Here's a unique solution. Take a look at it and see what you think....I was diagnosed with IBS D last year after finally seeing a doctor. All tests and Doctors visits revealed nothing. I was prescribed Levsin and Levsinex which has proved helpful in reducing the symptoms, however, I still had no idea what was the cause of the symptoms. As an IT professional I decided to use basic troubleshooting techniques to try to solve the problem myself. STEP 1 in any troubleshooting scenario is to "ISOLATE THE PROBLEM".Through this BB and talking to family members with IBS, I suspected that sugars and/or carbohydrates may be causing my IBS symptoms.Years ago, like many others, I went on the Atkins diet after reading the book. I remember experiencing reduced IBS symptoms during that time. I decided to experiment and use the Atkins initial two week diet as a type of "elimination diet". The initial two week diet allows only 15 grams of carbohydates per day. What happened was that my IBS symptoms were gone by the 2nd day. I stayed on the diet an entire week with absolutely no IBS.As a troubleshooter I now had a known list of good foods that do not produce IBS, and a general idea of what were the bad foods. I was on my way to isolating the problem.Next I began to individually put back the foods I eliminated in the Atkins diet to determine which ones cause my IBS. I found that sugars and pasta were the worst for me. Breads and potatoes could sometimes cause problems. Rice and rice noodles caused no problems. Fruits were hit and miss. Junk food (Candy, Chips etc.) was prety bad too.Using the knowledged gain