Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I am new to using a forum. I hope I am doing this correctly. I feel compelled, though to write today, as I truly believe it is because of this forum and all of you who have posted on it that I have my health back today. I am 48 years old. I am a happily married wife of 22 years, a mother of 2 great kids and a grandmother of a beautiful 1 year old grandaughter. I have had a very blessed life. I have, however, due to genetics have lived with IBS-C for many years. Over the course of the last 7-8 years though, my symptoms slowly, but steadily escalated. I'm sure you all know the story....doctors visits, laxatives, antacids, drink more water, eat some fruit, have and endoscopy, and of course...ultimately, "It's all in your head" "It's stress, anxiety, depression.....etc". Then comes the Zoloft, Klonopin, Zanac.... You know the drill. My symptoms never improved. On June 30th all that changed. My doctor diagnosed me with a bacterial infection in my uterus. She prescribed Flagyl. Curious as to how this infection developed I looked on line. In my haste, I forgot to type in the word uterine...thus only typing bacterial infection. What came up was a page dedicated to SIBO and its link to IBS. This ultimately lead me to his forum and I began reading. I read for a week. What I learned and discovered from all of you brought me back to life. I have to admit that I have not had a hydrogen breath test. However, everything I read made sense. Chronic constipation will lead to fermentation in the gut, including the small intestine. Having the benefit of Flagyl for the bacteria in the uterus and reading all your posts and learning the correct diet for SIBO, has cleared me of every symptom. I have lost 26 lbs. I have energy back. I have intimacy back (I stopped taking the antidepressants). The only sad news is that upon trying to discuss my findings w