Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I read all your posts, I wanted to add, I am at a crossroads.I have sacrificed having fun in my 20s to being obsessed with fixing IBS.The result has been I am stuck with all of the loneliness, worry, and work of fixing IBS with none of the results.This is what really gets me.I see your stories here, you people are not all mad and angry. I've been doing this for seven years.Seven years from now, I don't want to look back and say I wasted my whole 20s...I still got 4 years left.At the same time it completely enrages me to see a bloated, inflated gut despite all my efforts.Thing is...if I diet all week...exercise...blah blah..and go out to a party on Saturday...it's a fish out of water if you don't mingle and partake.However, doing so can negate EVERYTHING you did all week to get better (if you did get better).But...I miss those Saturday nights...man they were fun.What do I do?Keep on doing what I do (likely with the same results and cost in terms of not partaking in life?)Do something else (what???) to improve the IBS?Let loose, be carefree, and enjoy my 20s and cut the cord?Part of me is depressed...I don't want to be 30...40 and look back saying I gave up fun in my youth to bloating and digestion.I want to go out, party, and not give a damn.Part of me knows though one day I will get furious and mad when I see myself completely out of shape and bloated.All of me knows going half and half won't work...you can't cut out dairy or alcohol half the time.I don't want to regret the choices I make.If I give up with trying to concur and overcome my IBS symptoms...I'll get mad one of these days at how my body is so out of shape and digestion out of whack.If I keep trying, I'll continue to get nowhere at a pyric cost...my life...friends...living and having fun.What do I do?What did YOU do?How did you manage?What did YOU choose when you were in