Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,Is there anyone out there who has had success using an antidepressant to treat IBS-D? I began taking Citalopram 2.5 years ago after being diagnosed with IBS-D, but I did not respond well to it. My doctor switched me to Zoloft, which I've been taking for about 2 years now. Though it has helped with my anxiety, my physical symptoms have gotten drastically worse over the past year. I now have to supplement the Zoloft with a double dose of the antispasmodic dicyclomine and Immodium every day, along with probiotics and peppermint oil. About a month ago, I went to the ER because my pain was so intense I thought my appendix had burst. The doctor I saw gave me a few Vicodin to combat the pain, but it puts me in such a fog! I'm a busy college student with a job, so it's incredibly frustrating that all my efforts to treat my IBS-D don't seem to be working and I have to miss class and work so often.I recently read that Zoloft is sometimes used to treat people with IBS-C, and now I'm worried that this medicine just making me sicker by worsening my symptoms of IBS-D. Have any other IBS-D sufferers had similar problems with Zoloft, and has anyone found a better treatment? Also, is there a painkiller that won't make me as loopy? Any help would be greatly appreciated -- thank you!

·
Registered
34,955 Posts