Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Could anyone else out there tell me please if they suffer from Anxiety attacks bought on by an irritable bowel attack but I have one more major problem and that is that I'm a chronic asthamtic and when I have one of these attacks it also can trigger an asthma attack where I can stop breathing with 20 mins. This whole situation is starting to really upset me as I am a solo mum to four children under 7 and don't want to put them through this. Already they had to be woken up by ambulance staff and taken along with me to hosp, I want to find a way to make this all stop. Have tried some breathing exercises and are now on meds but would love to know more about this if ayone can help please.

·
Registered
166 Posts
Yes, anxiety has been a problem for many of us, including me. Asthma can be a life threatening condition, and I am not a doctor, so take everything I say with a grain of salt, and do whatever you do in conjuction with a qualified professional in NZ. I started taking a magnolia bark extract a few days ago - it has been used for both anxiety and asthma in China and Japan. Magnolia contains compounds that reduce nitric oxide production, inhibits the release of histamine, lessen inflammitory chemicals like IL-1 beta and TNF, and is more of an anti-oxidant than vitamin E. One possible complication - it is also traditionally in Chinese formulas for constipation. I have not seen any laxative effect - stools are not loose but are slightly different, and come out quicker and easier. My IBS has been under control for 2 months. Reducing the fructose stopped my D, but not anxiety. Cutting way back on carbs turned off the panic. (My panic was noticeably worse after skipping a meal). Other people may have different causes for their D and anxiety. May not help everyone, but this dietary approach worked for me and others. Worth a try. Also, some ge