Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!In March 2009 I developed a bladder infection which was treated with antibiotics. Although the antibiotics got rid of the bladder infection, they left me stuck to the toilet for a week in horrendous pain. It did ease off but I continued to have a 'morning rush' of D. I eventually went to the doctor and when all the tests came back as negative i was diagnosed with IBS.I am lucky that for the majority of the time it is mainly when I first wake up in the morning i get cramp and need to go to the toilet and then after my breakfast. However, sometime it can last for a few days. The thing I find most annoying with IBS is that it always flares up when you have something important on i.e. exams or holiday! I also find that it gets worse when I have my period - is this normal?I am a student as university and when I go on nights out it can get really bad. I am determined not to let it affect my lifestyle but realise that i can't eat the greasy food and drink that my friends do. Also, I regularly have potent wind, bloating and a sick feeling. The main reason i am posting this is because there is so much information out there and i don't know what advise to follow. I have discovered peppermint tea which is amazing for my IBS! So few questions that i would be grateful if anyone can help;How often can you take Imodium and can it cause long term effects?Can IBS become worse or does it just stay at the same level from when you first felt the effects?Does exercise help - if so any particular i.e. yoga? I've heard mixed reviews!Is there any herbal medication/drinks etc that help?I am on the contraceptive pill - will IBS reduce its effectiveness?And finally diet? I am lost as to what will help and what i shouldn't be eating - I have the D only type of IBS.This website is great as suddenly don't feel so embarrass and see it as an illness rather than