Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I am new to the BB and am delighted to find people who can understand what I go through. I have had IBS for 30+ years. Until about 3 years ago I had never had a test that showed no other problem but Drs basically said "you don't look sick", "if it hasn't killed you yet then it's just IBS - learn to live with it!" As you all know, easier said than done!! About 3 years ago things changed somewhat. Along with the D that I had always had I started having severe headaches everytime I had a flair up. Sometimes the headache would start first followed shortly by D, sometime the D was first and then the headache, but always now have both! I've had Drs tell me the two can't be related and that I should have a brain scan - had one - perfectly normal. "Finally" found a doctor would do some tests and had a colonoscopy (sp). He said he found "something" and did a biopsy but was sure it was nothing. 2 days later he called an told me I had a carcinoid tumor and need surgery immediately! Scared the hell out of me. Since he also told me he had to look it up to know what it was I decided not to let him do surgery and went to a major cancer center. They also advised surgery to remove it and I had a colon resection during which they removed the valve at the junction of the large and small intestine. I hoped, oh how I hoped, that that would solve my problem - no such luck. Even after recovering from the surgery I have the same symptoms, only much more severe. I am now taking Questran Light and Lomotil and have felt much better for the last year - first time in my adult life I somethimes have had near normal BMs. I do occassionally still have flair up though and still always have the headaches along with the D. Just wondered if anyone else experiences this?And, please if you've just been told you have IBS and haven't had any tests - insist on them! There could be othe