Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this board. In fact, I'm new to boards in general, but I am literally distressed, at the end of my rope, and don't know what to do. When I was in my early 20s, I would go weeks being constipated, and then have bouts of severe diarrhea, to where I was bleeding and light headed. It was horrible. I never knew when one of my "episodes" were going to strike. I finally went to the doctor at the urging of my husband and mother. They ran a couple of test to make sure I didn't have a parasite, and then scheduled me for a colonoscopy. The only thing that came of all of that...my doctor told me, "You don't have cancer, we didn't see any polyps. You have IBS, and you should watch your diet and see what irritates you and causes your flare ups." REALLY, DUDE?? That's it? It's not like I haven't tried EVERYTHING already. I have no pattern to what caused my flare ups. I learned to just deal. I had some really humbling moments, but I dealt. My pride totally went out the door. I have no shame anymore when it comes to "poop" issues, because my friends and family have had to deal with me for so long.Fast forward a few years. Now I'm 30. I have chronic constipation. But the "episodes" never come. I will go 2-3 weeks with no pooping activity. I don't even get an urge to go. It's like my stomach doesn't "move." It's horrible. Under my belly button and my rib cage throb and have random stabbing pains. I'm not a skinny girl, I am 5'4" and weigh 125 pounds, but I'm not a big girl at all. That is, until I don't go to the bathroom for 2-3 weeks and my stomach literally bloats out like a pregnant person and is hard. After a few weeks, I usually resort to taking a laxative to go. Sometimes that doesn't even work. When it does, my stomach flattens back out, and the cycle starts all over again. I am at a loss at what to do.I've tried diets, water, exercisin