Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. I'm an 18 year old female and I was diagnosed with IBS-D four years ago. I've had my IBS pretty well controlled four about 3 and a half of those years, but sometimes it just "flares up" no matter what I do.The last couple of weeks have been bad. I figure it is linked to the stress of the beginning of Spring semester (I'm a freshman in college). I'm having a hard enough time just being well enough to GET to class and be able to stay there without running out to the bathroom; the thought of social situations grips me with intense anxiety, almost a panic-attack.I don't really know what to say to my friends who want to go out... I'm too embarrassed to say, "Oh, sorry, I can't go out today because of (insert gross bowel problem du jour)!" But it also seems rude to say that I just want to stay in bed.Dealing with the complications IBS causes at school has drained all of my energy... I feel like I don't have any left for socialization.Also, this may or may not be related to the IBS, but I am catching an extremely unusual number of colds, about 6 in 6 months. I JUST got over a cold two weeks ago, and I feel like I'm coming down with another.My boyfriend is a caring induvidual and is really understanding about my IBS, so I feel lucky for that. I've just been in such a depressive funk, between the IBS and the colds, that I'm afraid I'm unpleasant to be around. It's hard to be cheery when you're constantly somewhere between physical discomfort and absolute agony.
Any advice/cheering up/commiserating would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
332 Posts