Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I seem to be having a strange pattern here, and see a strong correlation between working hard and then getting gas/bloating in return. For the past month I've been taking a Trigonometry class, which initially I thought was going to be extremely easy, so I slacked off for the first couple of weeks (bad idea). So I quickly fell behind and stopped being able to follow any of the lecture in class, and decided to merely attend class even if I didn't learn anything. Mind you, I am an extremely good student and got an A in my previous College Algebra class, and have a GPA of 3.4, but my overconfidence made me fall behind early on. Regardless, I decided to take the same approach that I took with my College Algebra class; that was, to simply do most of the work at home, teach myself everything, and do as many problems as I could for practice. But for some reason, even though I do not panic in class whenever I am not following the lecture, and simply lay back waiting for it to end, I still get very bad bloating and gas build-up. Similarly, just recently, I had to do some major catch-up homework that was cognitively difficult and stressful to understand at times, and sure enough I get the same bloating/gastric reaction that I do in class. But most of the time I do not have this sort of pain. This has even happened on two separate occasions where I hadn't eaten ANYTHING for the entire day, and had completely empty bowels, but still had that response when I was in class. So I must ask, if anyone here can confirm that anxiety/stress can indeed cause this reaction for IBS patience, or if anyone else has at least had a similar experience. I'd greatly appreciate your input. :(PSIs it possible that I can be anxious or stressed out unconsciously or without being aware of it, even though I am making an effort to be laid back and relaxed?

·
Registered