Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm currently taking care of my 78 yr. old aunt. She's got IBS and mild dementia, as well as high cholesterol and high blood pressure. I'm trying to monitor her diet and keeping her off dairy foods as much as possible. She takes 8 different drugs every day, and she has diarrhea attacks almost every day.My problem is how to cope with these attacks. It seems that she gets no warning at all, and by the time she rises from her chair, she's already messed herself and the mess trails all the way to the bathroom. Other times we've been out of the house and she's messed in the car, in the restaurant, and in the stores.I need some advice on how to control these attacks, and also if there's some protective clothing I can buy for her. She has ruined many of her clothes.This is my first time on this board and I'm glad I found it. I'd appreciate any help and support that anyone can give.

·
Registered
154 Posts
I think Depends (or another adult diaper) may be helpful in this situation - perhaps she's having a flare up lately... If she has high cholesterol, perhaps there are medications that they can give her to help.But in any case, as the caregiver, you're probably the 'cleaner' as well. The depends would definitely help you and her stay cleaner and drier. Maybe others on the board have some ideas.Good luck and welcome.Roo

·
Registered
34,955 Posts