Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have tried exercising over the years ie.relaxation techniques,yoga even tried personal training at the gym but i always end up feeling worse and have to give up.What is others experience with exercising and chronic fatigue?I just dont seem to get any benefit from it at all.I was told just to take it very gently and build up but i always end up feeling ill.

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
All I've ever read says it very much is a less is more sort of thing. I have no personal experience, but I have read about what it takes because I do have a lot of issues building endurance even though I don't have FM or CFS (I just build strength easily but have issues adding more time).You may have to start with very small amount (5 minute walk, or 5 reps of just a couple of weights with very low weight) and only increase a small amount at a time. Also take frequent breaks if you need them, even if that makes the whole workout take longer.The tolerated amount at the start can be very very low and most "normal amounts" of exercise will exhaust you until you build up.Once you find the amount you can do right now without feeling bad afterwards do that 3-4X a week for a week and make sure that is your tolerated level. And you might have 2 or 3 different things you rotate through, so do weights or other exercises 2X a week and do something aerobic 2X a weekThen I would increase that at no more than 10% per week. And that 10% is either amount of time or how hard you work. Or if you increase both the total increase should be about 10%, and then stay at that for a week.I know this sounds really slow and like it will take months just to get up to where most people start exercising, but any amount of overdoing it will set you back. You can make improvements but you have to start at where your exercise tolerance is now. A little bit of progress every week will